Friday, March 14, 2008

Wrath, Lust and Littering?

Wrath, Lust and Littering?
Current mood: pensive
Category: Religion and Philosophy
friday, march 14, 2008

The New and Improved Seven Deadly Sins...

The Catholic Church on Sunday updated the 1,500-year-old list of seven deadly sins, publishing the new list in the Vatican newspaper, L’Osservatore Romano.

Apparantly the original Seven (lust, wrath, gluttony, sloth, greed, pride, and envy) just couldn’t cut it our modern, global-village style society.

Polluting, genetic engineering, obscene riches, drug use, abortion, pedophilia and causing social injustice join the original seven deadly sins defined by Pope Gregory the Great in the sixth century (made famous by Dante’s fourteenth century "Divine Comedy")

The list came as the Pope deplored the "decreasing sense of sin" in today’s "securalised world".

God is now not only offended by stealing, blaspheming or coveting your neighbour’s wife but also by ruining the environment, conducting immoral scientific experiments and cloning! The rationale behind the new list of sins is that in an increasingly global world, the individulaistic dimension of the original seven deadly sins is no longer as relevant, while these new seven have a "social resonance" and show worshippers that their vices affect other people.

Did we really need a tweaked list of sins to tell us that?

Currently listening:
For Emma, Forever Ago
By Bon Iver

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...